Screen Printing my Brain

Hello and a Happy New Year to y’all, too late to say that now?!

Anyway, the holidays are well and truly over, so that is me back in the Vanilla Ink Studio and loving it, its time to get making!

acetate2

While designing my Lesion inspired prints, I decided I didn’t just want to use my printer at home to print them. No, I wanted to screen print them.

This was because I felt that as the design originated from the condition Multiple Sclerosis, that could have been with me for years, they needed to be produced with a little bit more care and attention.

So, the other day my very talented friend and Creative Director of YOKE, Mark McConnell showed me how to screen print at the print studio in Dundee Contemporary Arts (DCA).

We had a great afternoon, it was so much fun! Screen printing is such an interesting process and coming from a jewellery back ground it reminded me of how you would photo etch a piece of metal but this was done in a far larger scale.
I was so excited to see the whole process, as all I was told to bring was a black print of my chosen design. Unsure whether or not I could use a delicate pattern or not, I took quite a few options with me.

This was the chosen design.

Image

I am so glad I went for this intricate pattern, instead of one of the more solid pieces I had with me as it showed me just what is possible with the technique.

Here are some photos I took over the afternoon, and this is the revised selection…I got a bit snap happy!

DCA Print Studio

DCA Print Studio

 

Print Screens

Print Screens

 

The Dark Room

The Dark Room

 

Preparing the Screen

Preparing the Screen

 

Image printed on tracing paper the attached to the screen ready for baking!

Image printed on tracing paper then attached to the screen ready for baking!

 

Final rinse before it is ready to Print!!

Final rinse before it is ready.

 

All set up and ready to Print!

All set up and ready to Print!

 

But first to mix the colour....

But first to mix the colour….

 

Colour chosen after many mixes, thanks Mark! All set up and ready to go!!

Colour chosen after many mixes, thanks Mark!

 

Tester print, DONE!

Tester print, DONE!

 

Tadaaaa!

Tadaaaa!

 

Prints on different papers.

Prints on different papers.

 

The final print on a beautiful Fabriano paper.

The final print on a beautiful Fabriano paper.

So that is how you screen print!

Thanks again to Mark, you were a brilliant teacher!

I can’t wait to get back to the print studio to experiment with new materials, colours, textures that will add more depth and excitement to my work.
Stay tuned! xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Screen Printing my Brain

Leave a Reply

